Antonis Ellinas , ‘Antifascism in Greece: Actors, resources, and tactics’

Loading Events

« All Events

Dr Antonis Ellinas (University of Cyprus), ‘Antifascism in Greece: Actors, resources, and tactics’

Discussant: Vasiliki Georgiadou (Panteion University)

Research webinar series on Modern Greek Studies organised by the British School at Athens and the Greek Politics Specialist Group

Organisers: Eirini Karamouzi (University of Sheffield) and Lamprini Rori (University of Exeter) – Hosted by the British School at Athens)

Abstract

Dr Ellinas writes: “The voluminous literature on the far right largely treats it as a national and discursive phenomenon. I examine, instead, local and organizational aspects of right-wing extremism. I focus on the subnational development of right-wing extremist party organizations to turn attention to how local societies respond to extremism. I discuss the societal responses to right-wing extremism in Greece by focusing on the main actors, resources and tactics of the antifascist movement. I explore spatial and temporal patterns of antifascist mobilization and assess its effects on right-wing extremism.”

Please register here to participate: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN__9QCx_MkQ5yYcCslKo_ruw

Monday 19 April, 5pm (UK) / 7pm (Greece)

 

 

Research webinar
When: April 19 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm BST
Where: – –