Susannah Verney , ‘Greek Euroscepticism after a Decade of Crises: Researching Public Opinion through Eurobarometer Surveys’ – British School at Athens

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Susannah Verney (University of Athens) , ‘Greek Euroscepticism after a Decade of Crises: Researching Public Opinion through Eurobarometer Surveys

Abstract

The Eurobarometer surveys published biannually by the European Commission offer time data series tracking public opinion towards the European integration project over time. This paper focuses on mass attitudes in Greece during the period 2010-2020, a decade of drama in Greek-EU relations which had a major impact on public opinion. To what extent have three successive sovereign bailouts, the refugee/migrant crisis and the current covid pandemic nourished societal mistrust of the EU in Greece? How far has this developed into an openly eurosceptic stance? And what are the implications for the future of Greek-EU relations?

Discussant: Eirini Karamouzi (University of Sheffield)

Research webinar series on Modern Greek Studies organised by the British School at Athens and the Greek Politics Specialist Group

Organisers: Eirini Karamouzi (University of Sheffield) and Lamprini Rori (University of Exeter) – Hosted by the British School at Athens)

Please register to participate in this event: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_bTP0JQmGQhmN6GTOrz3-4w

Monday 14 June, 5pm (UK) / 7pm (Greece)

Research webinar
When: 14 June @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm BST
Where: – –