Elias Kolovos, ‘Romaiika: Towards a History of the Greek Lands under Ottoman Rule’ – British School at Athens

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Elias Kolovos (University of Crete), ‘Romaiika: Towards a History of the Greek Lands under Ottoman Rule’

Abstract

The seminar will discuss the history of the Greek lands under Ottoman rule, between the fourteenth and the early nineteenth century, as a shared history of Christian and Muslim communities: to the south of Mount Olympus, more or less, these communities shared also the Greek language, Romaiika. The Greeks were all around the Greek lands, the Christian Orthodox Romioi. Evliya Çelebi, the famous Ottoman traveler who strolled around the Greek lands in the second half of the seventeenth century wrote that most of the Muslims in this geography, minorities in terms of population, were also Rumyor, converts from Christianity, and mostly Greek speaking. Daniel Phillipides and Gregorios Konstantas, in their Modern Geography (Vienna, 1791) also used for the Muslims in the Greek lands the same term Roumiogyrismata, i.e., converts from Christianity. The
seminar will address the interactions between these communities in the shaping of the history of the Greek lands under Ottoman rule.

Please register to participate in this event:

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_VChG1RGARPeQgFaAYR506g

Monday 23 November 5pm (UK) / 7pm (Greece)

Upper House Seminar
When: 23 November, 2020 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm UTC+2
Where: – –