Violetta Hionidou, ‘Using emmenagogues and abortifacients in Modern Greece, 1830-1967’ – British School at Athens

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Professor Violetta Hionidou (University of Newcastle), ‘Using emmenagogues and abortifacients in Modern Greece, 1830-1967’

Abstract

Greece currently has one of the most liberal laws on abortion. While we know quite a lot about abortion in Greece in the second half of the 20th century, we know much less about earlier times. This paper will explore when, how and why abortion became such an important method of birth control in Greece. It will explore the intersections of popular culture, law, religion and medicine in bringing a wide acceptance and practice of abortion as a birth control method in Greece.

Please register to participate in this event:

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4qHAFgiSSRCTQErwWZAIRg

Monday 30 November 5pm (UK) / 7pm (Greece)

Upper House Seminar
When: 30 November, 2020 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm UTC+2
Where: – –