Markos Katsianis, “Excavation archives in 3D: Digital documentation and curation workflows”

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Professor Markos Katsianis (University of Patras), “Excavation archives in 3D: Digital documentation and curation workflows”

Abstract:

3D recording methodologies at the intra-site level have greatly enhanced the quality of the produced archaeological record and facilitated novel ways to interact with its content. In addition, they have opened exciting opportunities to revisit mixed and traditional documentation archives through the augmentation of their spatial characteristics. Yet, the effort to generate, put to analytical use and curate an excavation archive in 3D is substantial and comes with concerns regarding long term data preservation and computational reproducibility. This presentation showcases the life cycle of a 3D GIS approach to excavation documentation that spans more than a decade and discusses the effect of technological shift in the informational capacity of digital archaeological archives.

Please register to participate in this event:

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8qPchMSyRx69fyY9mSUo1A

Monday 7 December, 5pm (UK) / 7pm (Greece)

Upper House Seminar
When: December 7, 2020 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm UTC+2
Where: – –